Last Updated: Feb 6, 2014
- Interlibrary Loan
If you can't find the book, article, or dissertation that you want at IU, use ILL (Interlibrary Loan) to find what you need.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)
Consolidated catalog of items held by libraries worldwide. Use this resource to search for books and materials held in other libraries around the country.
- Contemporary Artists Index
Developed and maintained by the Cleveland Institute of Art, CAI indexes approximately 31,000 artists, artists groups, photographers, craftspeople, designers, and design firms whose work appears in group exhibition catalogs since 1991.
A sampling of research journals in the arts. Click to see Fine Arts Library holdings and online full text access.
Search for Online Full-Text Journals.
The following resources will help you with your Contemporary Art research.
For additional help see the list of Art & Art History Resources.
Use these art and design databases to search for scholarly articles from art journals.
- ARTbibliographies Modern
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
- Art Full Text
Indexes and abstracts articles from art, architecture, archaeology, design, planning, and museum studies journals.
- Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984
Citations and abstracts for articles on all aspects of art and architecture published in over 420 international periodicals between 1929 and August 1984.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Covers European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from European discoveries to the present, and contemporary art worldwide. Coverage 1975-2007.
- International Bibliography of Art
International Bibliography of Art, the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), covers European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945.
- DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index
International index to articles in more than 450 design and craft journals. Also contains data on designers, craftspeople, studios, schools, workshops, and firms.
In addition to the art databases, try these newspaper and multidisciplinary databases to find reviews or criticism about contemporary art and artists.
- New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers, 1851- 2009)
More than a newspaper for an American city, the New York Times is an international record of national and world news, as well as personal stories of how events affect individuals.
General news and business information. International newswires and pictures, TV and radio transcripts.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic
Organized into 5 categories, Lexis-Nexis includes articles from international newspapers, magazines, transcripts, legal research and medical journals.
- Academic Search (EBSCO)
Provides full text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journals for almost every academic discipline.
Try browsing (in the Reference, Oversize, and Stacks sections) the N500's to N6000's.
This area includes:
- Major biennial/triennial exhibition catalogs -e.g. Whitney Biennial, Documenta, Venice Biennial (Biennale di Venezia), Carnegie International…
- Contemporary or modern art history surveys
- Subject-specific surveys
- Selected major gallery or museum catalogs